Breeding Rcs - Tips, Success Stories, Terrible Failures?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cody2posh

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok so first off, I'm relatively new to the hobby, but I've recently started my first breeding setup that I've got some guppies and RCS happily housed in. I found that a lot of the best advice I've gotten on getting them set up to thrive has come from forums, so if anyone has any questions I'll help with what I've found so far, and I'm sure others would love to contribute.

Two things that I've been wondering myself are...
A) I've got two ghost shrimp that I added before the cherries to make sure that if shrimp were going to die, it would be a $.60 mishap vs a $25 one, which I've made the mistake of doing before -_- anyway my RCS are berried and happy in this new setup, but I've heard that ghost shrimp will just eat thru all the babies. Is this true? Do I need to pull out the ghosties? If they eat one or two I won't mind, would be nice actually so the population doesn't explode.

B) What have you guys found to be the most ethical way of culling unwanted shrimp? I obviously want to breed towards a desired color/morph, so culling in this new setup is a must!

Thanks
- Cody

fjh

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Nice job on the shrimp tank! Erm, ok...

A) ive never had ghost shrimp, but i believe they should be fine. I know that the whisker shrimp (or whatever its called) is often mistaken for ghost shrimp but are incredibly aggressive and attack fish. Also RCS will keep their own population in check so either way if you have another tank i see no reason to leave the ghost shrimp in there.