Breeding Nets...Safe or not Safe?

Skyline
Hey, I'm pretty new at this whole breeding thing, I have a pregnant swordtail and I bought a new breeding net for her...

I'm not sure if she likes it in their and I think it could stress her out to the point that she could abort her pregnancy?

Could this happen or am I too paranoid?

Should I leave the female in the main tank and wait for the babies to be born and put them in the breeder net, or just leave her in their?

Have you guys had success with breeder nets?

Please, any help would be appreciated.

Oh and I posted a Picture of my pregnant swordtail, you can't really see the little eyes but she is pregnant...

Dino
I don't care for them.

I have always had better luck with keeping the tank heavily planted.

Skyline
Yeah but..

Have you ever used the breeder nets though?

I feel that maybe I should just leave the mom in the main tank and let nature take its course...but I also want more free fish sooo...?!?!?

swords3711
ya it is easy for small fish like guppies
its difficult for swords though. My female aborted almost half her fry because of the breeder net

COBettaCouple
I don't like breeding nets really and just give the fry lots of hiding spots with floating plants, flat glass marbles substrate and a bunch of caves & plants. Then I can 'rescue' them to their own tank.

Gozer_1
Yup, hiding spots and a grow out tank. I've birthed a few batches of guppies in a net but there were always quite a few more babies when mom was free swimming. Ground level hiding spots is very important when they are born as babies kind of settle on the bottom before they really start swimming around. They'll be safer if they can settle into unaccessable crevices and in amongst plant leaves. Could buy you a little extra time to get them into their temp home.

Dino
Yes, I have used them.
Back before I knew any better.

Skyline
Thanks