Breeding Guppies - Any tips?

1. Anthony10 Member Member

Any tips for breeding guppies? I'll be getting a pair of green cobra guppies for my new 29gal when it's set up! Some questions I have:

Is a 1 male to 1 female ok? Or should it be different?

What should I feed the fry? I'm not very experienced with live food, so live brine might not work! :( Will they eat duck weed by a chance? Cause my pond has tons of it!

Of course I'll be doing research on breeding, but experienced breeders are always better than a webpage right? :)

How do I tell if they are male or female?

-Anthony

2. celizabethh3 Member Member

Any tips?

Typically livebearers should be kept in a 2:1 female:male ratio to keep the male from harassing a lone female.

As far as feeding fry, there is something called Hikari First Bites and can be purchased at Petco. http://t.petco.com/product/10906/Hikari-First-Bites.aspx I know some people choose to feed them the same flake food as the adults get, they just crush it up smaller. :)

Fortunately guppies are easy to sex and a lot of LFS will keep them in separate tanks. Males are more colourful and smaller than females. Also the males have a pointed anal fin, whereas the females have a more "fan" shaped one. I found this website to also be helpful when it comes to guppies.

http://howtobreedguppies.com/guppy-facts/

Sent from my iPad using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. claireputput Well Known Member Member

Hi and welcome. I have endlers which are very close and in fact often crossed with the guppies you see in stores today (they are slightly smaller then the average guppy).
    The male guppy is very colorful and usually the female will be bigger and not colored up like a male-sort of plain.
    I would have at least two females to your one male. They breed like rabbits and rabbits breed like crazy. Soon you will have so many, you wont know what to do! :)