Breeding Bettas

natev

Reaction score
:) Hello! I just recently joined this forum and I’m looking for details on breeding bettas? I have a female betta with spoonhead and a male betta with a “regular head” the breeder told me that breeding the both of them should result in regular headed bettas and upon more research it seems that a lot of betta breeders breed the two so they compliment each other. Opinions? I don’t want to end up with a bunch of bettas who I can’t give homes, I’m relatively new at breeding but I’ve successfully nurtured three groups of newly hatched bettas without much complication.

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Can you post photos of the bettas? Generally speaking you want to avoid breeding bettas that have undesirable trades (spoon head, bend spines, poor fin shape, etc). It is better to pick fish that already have good form and fins rather than taking lesser strains and trying to get something great. If you are breeding a fish with a bad spoon head then you should expect several fry with some degree of spoon head.

That being said, if the trait isn't too bad and the other half of the pair has much better traits then you can breed them, but you may have to cull more fry that have noticeable bad traits than you would if you were breeding a better pair. I see culling as a necessary evil so if you don't mind killing young fish with poor genetics then it may not be a problem for you. I feed my culls to either cichlids or my axolotl so nothing goes to waste.

jdhef

Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to FishLore! I hope you enjoy the site.

Jackiesdaddy

Reaction score