Bought a CO2 Kit instead of a DIY

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by plug, Dec 9, 2012.

1. plug

plug Well Known Member Member

So I just was so fed up I went and purchased a Fluval CO2 kit and set it up
    I don't have the space for 2 litre bottles for a DIY so I opted for this instead...much more expensive, but had to be done

So this is my first attempt with CO2, and I have a couple of questions

As I understand it, I should shut the unit off at night, and plug in my bubbler and have it run at night. Is it about right to shut off the unit about an hour before turning off lights and starting up bubbler, so the remaining CO2 can be used up

Also, is there any time lag when I turn the lights on again...should I turn lights on, bubbler off and CO2 unit on at the same time?

2. c

chevyguy8893 Well Known Member Member

It is a good idea to turn it off at night, that way the CO2 isn't going to waste or possibly create high levels of CO2. Turning the CO2 off an hour before the lights go out is fine, and then turn the CO2 on, and aerator off, an hour before the lights come on. This way the CO2 levels can build up before the lights come on. Running an airstone is up to you, it probably isn't a bad idea to do since it isn't going to hurt anything. I don't run an airstone, but my filters create enough disturbance to outgas the CO2 at night.

3. OP
    OP
    plug

Which brings me to my next question
    I ahve an Eheim 2213 as my main filter
    I also run a small HOB Tetra Whisper which I use when needing to take seeded material for my med tank, as well as for extra filtration/circulation

Now yesterday, my first day I set up my co2 unit, I shut off the HOB as I thought the turbulance would cause the co2 to leave the water quicker. I raised the water higher so it does not cause a falls effect and the water from the HOB goes into the tank with out splashing...although it does cause turbulence