Bought A Betta With Fin Rot. Please Help.

Chris92xx

Reaction score
I could use help please. I am new to Betta keeping. I saw a sick Betta with fin rot at a big chain store and am trying to rescue him. He has about a 1 mm hole in his bottom fin with moderate fraying. I didnt cycle the tank as I bought everything when I saw him. It has been 4 days. I will briefly describe his progress and my treatment. Id greatly appreciate help.

Tank: 3.5 gallons, 2 plants, 2 moss balls, No filter running for now, heater maintaining 78 F.

Day 1: Put him into tank. Added the suggested dose of Betta fix and 1 tsp aquarium salt. Fed him 3 small blood worms. He immediately became tippy and floating severely to side when not swimming. When swimming he stayed at the top.

Day 2: Fasted him all day. Tipping has improved and he is swimming good. Swimming to the bottom and exploring tank but mainly staying at top. Hole in his fin became slightly larger. Checked water levels. Nitrites at 3.0 ppm. Did a 30% water change, including dechlorinator. Dropped Nitrites to about 2.0 ppm.

Day 3: He is seeming pretty good. Swimming good and exploring tank top and. bottom. Fed him a single blood worm but he became slightly tippy again. Recovered quicker this time. Did another 30% water change. Nitrites still around 1.5 ppm. Bought methylene blue. Added about 2 drops for the whole tank. Trying not to kill plants but help with exposure to high nitrites. Also maintaining about 1 tsp salt per 3.5 gallons, and half the suggested dose of betta fix.