Bought A 5g Today!

JenK21

Reaction score
Hi there!

So glad to find this forum

I'm just getting back into fishville after a several year break (initiated when I found my 33g goldie tank had "untanked" on my living room floor after a two day vacation). Goldie's re-homed, angry landlords, tears etc.... Anywhoo.... as I am a nursing student on a strict budget with money and time, I've decided NOT to go big or go home. I have purchased a 5g Marineland Contour tank with a built-in filter. I'm hoping with the LED light and very bright living room (not direct sun however,) that I can keep some java fern alive in there with a piece of "driftwood" i bought from the pet store (which is currently boiling away to try and lose some of the tannins). Obviously, this is a teeny-tiny tank and I need to be extremely careful about stocking, water quality etc. I'm using Prime as my water conditioner.

I've read through some of the very helpful posts and articles here but was hoping to ask a few questions if I may, and I appreciate any and all feedback (good or bad!)

1.) What would the experienced forum members recommend as an appropriate fish(es) for this little tank. My thoughts were a betta or some neon tetras? (although, I think the neons need to school and a 5g may not be enough) Guppies perhaps?

2.) If I went the betta route, would it be recommended to get a heater? My ambient room temp is usually always around 72-74 but I'm not sure if that is too cool for a betta or not. You see the sad bettas in the pet store in their tiny 2g tanks with no heater but obviously I don't want to provide a home like that!

3.) Would it be recommended to cycle this 5g tank? I can't remember what the recommended size is for cycling vs 100% water changes. I would imagine that I have a little bit more leeway with the filter but it is still a small tank. I need a refresher on the cycling dos and don'ts and I see there is a great article on here for me to read.

Thank you so much in advance!
Jen