Bolivian Ram Behavior? Question

1. ILikeBigFishandICannotLie Initiate Member

So I've got this pair of rams, I think they may both be male but I'm not really sure. There are some very subtle differences but I'm not experienced enough to tell if their really indicative of gender.

Any ways, they don't really seem to do much, I rarely see them even eat. I've had them for about a month now and all they really do is just hover together at the bottom of the tank. Brine shrimp, Cichlid pellets, spirulina flakes, tropical fish flakes, algae wafers all pass them by and they show almost no interest.

I do know that the PH is a little high for their tastes, its 7.8. I purchased some PH Down but after doing some research trying to figure out how much one dose will lower the PH all I discovered were many threads saying that PH Down will cause unhealthy fluctuation and that its better to just leave it alone and let the fish adjust. Orignally I chalked their lethargic behavior up to this but I figured after a month they would have adjusted.

The tank is planted and there are many nooks and caves for them to hide in, none of the other fish have bothered them what so ever. Is this normal Bolivian Ram behavior or is some thing wrong?

Attached Files:

2. BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

That isn't normal bolivian ram behaviour in my experience
    I have a bolivian ram and my Ph is around 7.8. He is pretty active though not as much as the rest of the fish in that tank (but that includes danios, dojo loaches, platies and other active fish). He eats well and loves frozen foods particularly. He eats like a little pig.

3. tyguy7760 Fishlore VIP Member

Agreed. What temp do you have your tank at? Also I wouldn't mess with the ph with chemicals. Unless your rams are wild caught, they should adjust to your pH unless it's something ridiculous

4. ILikeBigFishandICannotLie Initiate Member