Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Blood Parrot Information Please

Discussion in 'Parrot Cichlid' started by Allmyfishesloveme, Apr 15, 2019.

1. AllmyfisheslovemeNew MemberMember

Can someone give me more info on the blood parrot cichlids please?

2. CaptainAquaticsWell Known MemberMember

Hi! I am a blood parrot expert, my favorite fish is my blood parrot. Here is what I think you should know:

Tank size:

Blood parrots should have a minimum of 40 gallons. It should be a 40 gallon breeder tank. Any thing bigger than that should work.
    Tank mates:
    Blood parrots can have several kinds of tank mates. Blood parrots have a big attitude and like to be the boss of the tank, however they can’t really do any physical damage because of their deformed mouths. I personally keep my blood parrot with a Oscar, a few different species of catfish, a gourami, a firemouth cichlid, and I even once house him with a flowerhorn (he got aggressive with my Oscars so he had to move out however he never bothered my BP). My BP lives in a 130 with his tank mates.
    Diet:
    I feed my blood parrot freeze dried krill everyday. Blood parrots need a lot of protein and he eats anything he can. He eats the krill, the pellets for the catfish, and anything else I put in there.
    Challenges in keeping these fish:
    Blood parrots are man made fish so they have some challenges about keeping them.
    1. There mouths. Blood parrots have deformed mouths and they commonly have trouble eating so you have to find food they can eat
    2. They poop a lot. Blood parrots poop a lot and need lots of water changes
    3. They can be bossy. When blood parrots are young they can do damage. My BP almost killed my Oscar when they were young. When they are older they can do anything, but watch them when they are young.
    Things to watch for: