Blackwater Biotope with Angel Fish

Northwoods22

I am interested in adding some Manacapuru Red Shoulder Angelfish to my collection. I am new to keeping Angels and my plan is to build an Amazon biotope sytem with tank-raised Angels and the add some sub-adult Manacapuru Angels when the tank is well eatablished. I am new to keeping Angels, and, I welcome your critique of my strategy and proposed tank setups. I have three tanks devoted to this project, and, I am open to a bigger tank (ie 60 or 75g if needed.) I have a 40g breeder, 20g extra high and a 10g. Currently I have 6 Black Neons in the 10g, 2 small Angels and 4 med Angels in the 20g and the 40 breeder has 6 Buenos Aries Tetras in it but these will be evicted when I covert it to the blackwater environment. Evolution I: Build out a hardscaped blackwater tank (with lots of leaf litter and some driftwood) and add the tank-raised Angels and Black Neons. I plan to keep this sytem as-is for six months. Evolution II: I will confirm that I have the correct water parameters, and, then I will then add 4 med wild Manacapuru Red Shoulder Angelfish and 2 small wild Discus (or move the Black Neons in there from the 10g) and grow them until they need a bigger tank. Let me know what you think of my plans, and, thanks for reading my post.

LowConductivity

+1 for actually selecting a blackwater angelfish for a blackwater tank.

just start with the bigger tank, 75 would be pretty nice.

be selective with your manacupuru angelfish selection….many angelfish come from Manacupuru, most of them aren’t red shouldered.

Linda1234