Black layer between gravel and compost. Should I be concerned?

ArcadiaVince

A newbie here with no prior knowledge at fish/shrimp keeping and planted aquarium.
Spent a few weeks researching the Walstad method to set up a no-filter aquarium ... no-filter part is still not happening just yet.

My setup:
36L aquarium. Water temperature is constantly sitting at 24 degrees Celcius.
The substrate is made of about 2 cm of sifted organic compost mixed with some chicken manure topped with 2-3mm gravel. The gravel is about 4 cm thick.
Filled up the tank and poked around the substrate to remove any air pockets before performing a full water change.
The tank was left sitting for 2 weeks with the filter running before introducing any plants.
I have planted some Wisteria, Bacopa Caroliniana, Pink baby tears, Dwarf baby tears, Rotala Wallichii, and Rotala Rotundifolia and about 95% survived and is currently thriving.
Added 6 juvenile red cherry shrimps about 3 weeks after the plants were added... it just so happened that there were 3 stowaways baby shrimps, and all 3 have survived till now.
The initial brown algae bloom has been taken care of by the shrimps so I was under the impression that everything is hunky-dory.
LED lights (blue and white) are kept on for about 8-10 hours every day with 2 air stones; one on each side of the aquarium.

I noticed that there is a spot on my gravel around the leftover stump of a dead Rotala Rotundifolia turning black, which I assume is due to the stump rotting.
Removed the stump and washed the gravel before putting them back.
Now I noticed that there is a layer of black between my compost and gravel layer.
There are occasional air bubbles coming up from the gravel every now and then too.
I have tried to poke the substrate to remove any build-up of air bubbles once every few days but I am not sure if that is the long-term solution.