Black Algae Or Cyanobacteria? Suggestions

Dechi

Well Known
Is this a new tank ? It so ir could be diatoms.

If not a new tank, and your plants aren’t melting and adapting, they look like they need nutrients.

OP
77hermanwilliams

77hermanwilliams

Dechi said:
Is this a new tank ? It so ir could be diatoms.

If not a new tank, and your plants aren’t melting and adapting, they look like they need nutrients.
It is a "new" tank. I've probably had this one going for about 2 months. I'm sure the plants need nutrients. Is there an easy way to do that?

Crispii said:
You can use hydrogen peroxide to eradicate black algae or cyanobacteria.
How do I use hydrogen peroxide for black algae/cyanobacteria? It can't possibly be as easy as pouring a cap in the tank.

Dechi

Well Known
77hermanwilliams said:
It is a "new" tank. I've probably had this one going for about 2 months. I'm sure the plants need nutrients. Is there an easy way to do that?
I’m no expert in plants, I’ve always had problems with them myself.

I started a new 45 gallon planted tank and got Thrice C (for low tech aquariums, if you don’t have CO2 like me). It is a complete formula for low tech tanks and has all the macros and micros you need.

If haven’t started using it as I’m waiting for my plants to show signs of at least growing a little bit before I start adding it, as I don’t want to fertilize the algae...

OP
77hermanwilliams

77hermanwilliams

Crispii said:
This video should explain it:
Thanks for the video. That is going to help for sure. I don't have a lot of things in my tank so I'm going to remove as much as I can and clean it. How do I figure out what the root cause of the algae is? What should I look at?

Dechi said:
I’m no expert in plants, I’ve always had problems with them myself.

I started a new 45 gallon planted tank and got Thrice C (for low tech aquariums, if you don’t have CO2 like me). It is a complete formula for low tech tanks and has all the macros and micros you need.