Big Tank Purchasing Decision Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by kayla20johnson, Jun 14, 2018.

1. kayla20johnson

kayla20johnsonValued MemberMember

So, I recently came across a 55 gallon long, and a 75 gallon long. Both used, great price, but they only come with the tank and the stand.

I currently have a 55 gallon high.

I need opinions please and thank you!

2. Goldiemom

GoldiemomWell Known MemberMember

The longs are good for smaller fish unless you have fish that use the entire water column. My Goldie’s don’t like The longs because it limits their swimming. My tropicals are fine in one.

3. smee82Fishlore VIPMember

Get em both if you can use them. I prefer long to high, high can be a pain planted.

4. OP
    OP
    kayla20johnson

kayla20johnsonValued MemberMember

I would LOVE to get them both, but unfortunately I think having 2 fish tanks would be quite overwhelming for me. I’m still getting into the groove of things, but I feel I am doing very well thus far.

My main concern is if I end up with the 75, what all will I have to get that I don’t already have?

5. IHaveADogToo

IHaveADogTooWell Known MemberMember

Keep one in storage until you're ready for it.

6. Goldiemom

GoldiemomWell Known MemberMember

I have a shed in the backyard just to store my tanks. You can never have too many. I have 5 up and running right now plus a pond. It does all have to do with how much you can handle though. I couldn’t do this back when I had kids at home.

7. bryangar

bryangarWell Known MemberMember

The bigger the tank, the more things you have to buy. You would have to get 1-2 canister filters, more substrate, if you don’t chose to go bare bottom, Bigger decorations(save money by using outdoor rocks.), better lights(if you want to plant it.) more fish=more money.

8. Esli

EsliValued MemberMember