Bettas With Dwarf Cory's

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by JocularElf, Apr 10, 2017.

1. JocularElf

JocularElf Valued Member Member

Hello everyone!

I have an established 10 gallon tank with a Betta in it. It has sand substrate and a few plastic plants and decorations. I hope to plant it in the future. My main question though is if I could put a group of 4-5 dwarf cory cats in there with my Betta.

2. L

Levibeast Valued Member Member

Hello, I'm no expert. I have 6 habrosus cories with my Betta. It definitely depends on the personality of your betta as some can be territorial and be more aggressive. My betta definitely chased, stalked and lunged at my cories for the first two days. He ignores them now, but it was definitely something that was not fun to watch. My cories were a bit faster and learned to swim away. Now they can feed pretty close to each other. Good luck!

3. aquatickeeper

aquatickeeper Fishlore VIP Member

I wouldn't do it. They need a minimum of 15 gallons

4. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Unfortunately not. Cories need to be in groups of 6+ of their own species in a larger tank (a 10 gal is too small). Unfortunately the dwarf cories, including C. pygmaeus, C. habrosus, and C. hastatus, also are not temperature compatible with bettas.

5. OP
    OP
    JocularElf

Alright thanks guys! That's what I figured just wanted a double check.

6. BeanFish

BeanFish Well Known Member Member

I find the a "10 gal is too small" comment hypocritical and it does not make much sense to me. This is the only forum where everyone says that a 10 gal is too small for a dwarf corydora, I wonder who started with the tradition.
    My 10 gal is 20 inches long, 20 times bigger than a dwarf corydora. Yet it is too small? If that is the case why are people ok with keeping a school of endlers in a 5 gal?