Betta With Inflamed Gills

Bettajones’smom

Reaction score
Hi All,
So I’m pretty new to bettas, I have 3 total, 2 VT’s in 5.5 gallon tanks, one DT in 2.5 gallon, 1 VT had signs of swollen gills so I started medicating with api fin & body cure for inflamed gills & it’s still inflamed, now my newest addition, the young DT, suddenly (like overnight) has one blown gill, what could be causing this? My medicated betta is in fully cycled tank, o ppm ammonia, o ppm nitrite & 10 ppm nitrates, ph at 7.6, or 7.8, DT is in uncycled tank, doing fish in cycle monitoring water for ammonia & doing 40 to 50% pwc every day to keep that ammonia at zero. Is there something else I should be doing? I didn’t see any gill flukes, just swelling on Katherine Betta Jones (my red VT in fully cycled tank) & now one swollen gill on splash gordan with daily 40 to 50% pwc. I see that both are eating well, swimming up to greet & beg, both betta Jones & splash gordan are maturing, I can see the fins are getting bigger, no tears, the 1st betta I got (Spamela Manderson’s tank still hasn’t cycled and I’ve had him longer than betta Jones), he’s super healthy, never had a problem. I’ve had to move my golden mystery snail (Michael Slougless) into spams tank since I’ve been medicating jones’ tank. So, what could be causing inflamed gills when my water parameters are good, and is it serious? I’ve been careful to not use same gravel vac & test tubes for sick tank, so no cross contamination?? Also soaked & fed Michael Slougless in declorinated water & waited till he pooped before moving from betta Jones tank to spamela’s tank. All are in heated tanks, spamela & splash are at 80 degrees , betta Jones is at 78 degrees. Any insight would be much appreciated

DutchAquarium

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Could you post a picture of your betta, this very could simply be his beard and not inflamation.

Bettajones’smom

Reaction score