Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Please help!!
Tank

What is the water volume of the tank? 2.5 gallons
How long has the tank been running? Since December 2018
Does it have a filter? Sort of. Just a small filter that comes with a aqueon 2.5 minI bow. I’m about to transfer him into a well filtered 20 gallon but I want to cure him first.
Does it have a heater? Yes
What is the water temperature? 77-78
What is the entire stocking of this tank? (Please list all fish and inverts.) just him

Maintenance
How often do you change the water? Once a week unless things get ahead of me
How much of the water do you change? Almost 90% due to poor filtration.
What do you use to treat your water? Prime, neutral regulator, and pristine as well as stability. Sometimes acid buffer and alkaline buffer
Do you vacuum the substrate or just the water? I gravel vac

*Parameters - Very Important
Did you cycle your tank before adding fish? No . I was a newbie and did know about the cycle but I didn’t wanna wait. I also got misinformation about “instant cycling” with bacteria in a bottle. (Used stability)
What do you use to test the water? API Master
What are your parameters? We need to know the exact numbers, not just “fine” or “safe”.

Ammonia:0.25
Nitrite:0
Nitrate:don’t test due to one fish and weekly water changes
pH:7.8

Feeding
How often do you feed your fish? Every night
How much do you feed your fish? About 5 bloodworms/5 pellets
What brand of food do you feed your fish? HikarI freeze dried blood worms, northfin sinking betta bits, and tetramin tropical granules.
Do you feed frozen or freeze-dried foods?
Yes bloodworms freeze dried
Illness & Symptoms
How long have you had this fish?about 8.5 months
How long ago did you first notice these symptoms? About 11 days ago
In a few words, can you explain the symptoms? Ich, 2 dots one on his head and one on his fin
Have you started any treatment for the illness? Yes Paraguard
Was your fish physically ill or injured upon purchase? No