Betta with cherry shrimp?

Revan

I'm thinking of setting up a 5-gallon shrimp tank at some point during winter break, and then adding a betta (maybe at the same time, maybe in summer break, maybe sometime in between) Do you think the betta could live with the cherry shrimp without attacking? And do you think I should get a sponge filter to start seeding in my current 20-gallon long to use for it? I have no experience with bettas and shrimp, just minimal research, so any feedback would help. Thanks! (btw I'm planning on a short-fin betta, fairly certain its unnecessary info just putting that out there)

Fishstery

I'm thinking of setting up a 5-gallon shrimp tank at some point during winter break, and then adding a betta (maybe at the same time, maybe in summer break, maybe sometime in between) Do you think the betta could live with the cherry shrimp without attacking? And do you think I should get a sponge filter to start seeding in my current 20-gallon long to use for it? I have no experience with bettas and shrimp, just minimal research, so any feedback would help. Thanks! (btw I'm planning on a short-fin betta, fairly certain its unnecessary info just putting that out there)
I would definitely pre-seed a sponge filter in one of your current tanks as long as none of the tank inhabitants have any current health issues. With just a betta and/or some shrimp you can instant cycle your new tank this way as long as you run the sponge for at least 4-6 weeks before starting the new tank.