Betta with a red sore, please help!!

1. Fawntasy

Fawntasy New Member Member

Hello~

I saw this betta at the store a few days ago. I had been going every day to see when they would get a new stock of bettas in, but grew fond of this one. I almost took him the first time, but saw he had a red welt near his eye, and decided not to. After 3 days of checking, I grew fond of him and decided to take him. It doesn't appear to have gotten much worse, if it all, over the 4 days I've known of him.

So I just got him home and set up. My tank isn't very big, as I'm a bit new to this. I had another betta that died of what appeared to be Dropsy after about 4 months.

Any idea what this red sore is on the new better, and how to help him?

I have:
    Melafix
    Pimafix
    Herbtana
    Epsom Salt

I put 1/4 teaspoon of Melafix in the tank.
    I'll be getting some Aquarium Salt at the store tomorrow
    EDIT: I just read Aquarium Salt has no place in a freshwater tank?? I was told on bettafish.com to use AQ.

(Sorry for so many photos. Just trying to get the most helpful shot of it I can!)

Attached Files:

2. Flowingfins

Flowingfins Fishlore VIP Member

Please, please, please don't use pimafix/melafix/bettafix! They contain melaleuca oil, which causes the labyrinth organ to expand, suffocating the fish. Aquarium salt is bad as well, if overdosed or left in too long it can cause liver and kidney failure.
    I would try daily 50% water changes, it doesn't look to bad. You may need to try a medicine if it doesn't start improving soon.
    Welcome to the forum:)

3. OP
    OP
    Fawntasy

Oh no!! I put in the 1/4 teaspoon Melafix. Will he be ok??
    Why would they sell that for bettas if it does that!! ;0;

4. Flowingfins

I would do a large water change, just to dilute it. With daily water changes it should be bout of the water soon.
    What size tank is he in?
    They want money, if it says "heals betta fish" people will buy it, just like they sell bowls for bettas.

5. OP