Betta Will Only Eat Goldfish Flakes

binji

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
guitar is like. a voracious eater. he swims up to me every time I come into the room because he thinks I'm going to feed him, but the thing is that he will absolutely not touch anything that isn't goldfish flakes.
ive bought him aqueon pellets and bettamin and he will not eat either, not even the lil shrimp in bettamin and I have no clue what to do. I don't know the nutritional value or brand of the flakes because I got them from a friend and I worry about him.
how can I make him eat the food made for him?

goplecos

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
You really don't need to worry. Back when I was a beginner and I had Just Goldfish and Bettas, they all got goldfish flakes and the bettas lived happily for over 5 years. Betta pellets are over rated. My current Betta gets high quality tropical fish flakes and is super happy with them.

OP
binji

binji

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
ive had him for 2 weeks now I think, maybe 3

goplecos said:
You really don't need to worry. Back when I was a beginner and I had Just Goldfish and Bettas, they all got goldfish flakes and the bettas lived happily for over 5 years. Betta pellets are over rated. My current Betta gets high quality tropical fish flakes and is super happy with them.
that's really good to know actually! thank you

fishgame6

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
to be honest just do what they said up there maybe try blood worms tho

OP
binji

binji

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
fishgame6 said:
to be honest just do what they said up there maybe try blood worms tho
I'm trying to get him some treats but honestly theyre expensive and he hasnt taken to anything else so idk

fishgame6

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
binji said:
I'm trying to get him some treats but honestly theyre expensive and he hasnt taken to anything else so idk