betta travel

inari

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
This weekend I'm going home for the 4th of July I'm pretty sure Inari needs to come with me 'cause well he needs to eat and have attention besides idk what my room will be doing while i'm gone (WAY hot, way cold, ect) so I can monitor this easier, what is the best way to transport the little dude? I have a 1 gallon tank for him,(yes i know bad me i'll beat myself up for it later ) is it alright to transport him in that and how full should the water be? is half ok? I know i'm still a total noob at this but hey better to ask now than just kinda do it....
thanx

Brent

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
The usual method of transport is in a plastic bag inside of a styrofoam cooler (6 pack size) with a small heat pack that has been heated in a microwave and then wrapped in a couple of layers of newspaper.  Then the very best is to get a battery operated Air Pump and use it to pump air into the water so they have a lot of oxygen.  They are fairly cheap and you can get them at most fish stores.  I am just giving you this link to show you what they look like and about what they are like.