Betta Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by Philippians 4:13, Jul 31, 2017.

1. Philippians 4:13

Philippians 4:13 Well Known Member Member

Hi all!
    I wanted to start a betta tank down the road and wondered what would be a good size tank. I only want one betta, and 3-5 other fish to go with it. Suggestions on tank size? Fish to go with the beta? How many other fish? I am new to keeping bettas, are there different kinds?
    Thanks!

2. dansamy

dansamy Valued Member Member

We just got two Bettas. They're both in their own 10 gallon tanks.

3. Katie13

Katie13 Fishlore VIP Member

There are different fin variations of Betta Splendens (most common) as well as wild types. Whether or not tank mates are even an option depends on the betta's personality. I would suggest no less than 20 gallons for a betta community though.

4. JesseMoreira06

JesseMoreira06 Well Known Member Member

a single Betta can live happy in a 5g at the very minimum IMO. I wouldn't house bettas with any other fish but snails and or shrimps.

5. tommywantfishy

tommywantfishy Well Known Member Member

You would need a 10 or 15 gallon tank ideally. You will need an adjustable flow HOB filter (azoo mignon 60 filter is epic)

You could also use a sponge filter. I run both in my 5g with a Rose tail.

Good tankmates depend on color and cover. A school of Black Neons in a 15 would be cool. Would need at least 6-8. You could go with light substrate and go with ghost shrimp as well. I have had a ghost outlive 2 bettas. Never go barb. They nip. Or serpae....almost have to go translucent shrimp on light sub....or go with a school of black neons imo.

Most livebearers are too colorful.
    @phillipians 4:13

You will need a temp of around 78. In a larger tank there are cooler zones. I will find my fish hang in the areas with less heat. A bigger tank allows your fish area for comfort.

6. OP
    OP
    Philippians 4:13