Betta Spots Of Raised Scales

1. Amy Haas Initiate Member

2. bopsalot Well Known Member Member

Poor little boy. I am not an expert, definitely just a learner when it comes to fish disease, but that does look like some kind of infection. Fungus? The pattern doesn't look right for ich. Someone who knows will be along shortly. This will give your thread a bump.
    @AllieSten

3. Amy Haas Initiate Member

Attached Files:

4. AllieSten Fishlore VIP Member

It looks like columnaris. I'm pretty certain of it. The best treatment for columnaris is Kanamycin. If you have any inverts in the tank they will need to be removed or you will need to quarantine your betta for treatment.

Kanaplex is the most popular brand. Remove the carbon from your filter. Do a 75% water change. Add antibiotics. Follow the instructions exactly. The goal is antibiotics should be in the tank for around 7 days, so you may need to do 2-3 rounds, so get enough medication to complete the full treatment.

5. Corine Well Known Member Member

Kind of looks like fungus to me as well. Have you done a water test recently? How often are you doing water changes?

6. bopsalot Well Known Member Member

Yes, you are both probably correct. I'm just learning about this disease stuff, but from what I understand, the columnaris bacteria infect the fish when things get out of balance, then fungus sets in and covers the wounds causing the fuzzy white appearace? Not sure about that. So treat the bacterial infection, and it should heal up. It looks like an advanced case, and I think it can move fast, so treat as quickly as possible and you can perhaps save him. I really hope he feels better soon!

7. Amy Haas Initiate Member

Thanks so much. I will do this tmr asap! Never heard of columnaris.

8. Amy Haas Initiate Member

Makes sense. I appreciate your advice. He's such a little joy. Always watches me working.

9. bopsalot Well Known Member Member