Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Betta Sorority

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by CandyCane701, Apr 17, 2019.

1. CandyCane701Well Known MemberMember

I've debated on doing a betta sorority for over a year now. I finally went for it. All 10 females arrived today, and are now in my 75 gallon tank after being acclimated. The bettas are of all different types. I'm not even sure what some are. Part of me is wondering if they all really are females? How can I tell with bettas where even the males have short tail types what the gender is? I wish I would have taken pics while they were still in the bag. Lol

2. DemeterFishlore VIPMember

Are they all young adults? If you bought them online you can take screen shots of the provided pics and post them here. I’m not always right on the gender but I’ve got plenty of experience. Look for the long pelvic fins, slimmer bodies and beards on males. Round bellies, egg spots, and shorter plevic fins on female.

3. CandyCane701Well Known MemberMember

The pics the seller had up were just for reference, not the actual fish. Here are some pics of one that I'm not too sure about. I can get more pics if needed.
    ETA: And yes, they all look to be on the younger side.
    20190417_122757.jpg20190417_140605.jpg20190417_140621.jpg

4. KoiBettasValued MemberMember

Can't really tell from those photos but that kind of looks like a male to me. Can you see an egg spot? Is he/she flaring and trying to impress the other females? Does the fish have long ventral fins?

Also that doesn't look like a young betta to me

5. CandyCane701Well Known MemberMember

That one is one of the largest 2 out of everyone. Their sizes range quite a bit. This one has done more flaring than anyone else by far. Is this pic better? I haven't been able to see an egg spot yet. 20190417_142023.jpg

6. KoiBettasValued MemberMember

Yea almost sure that's a male