Betta sick with ich? what do I do?

Kelcili

Hello! I am very new to the fishkeeping hobby, and my betta Kelcili (kiki) looks very sick with large white spots on his body and a very torn tail. I don't have aquarium salt or any medication except for bettafix, so I'm wondering if there is a way to treat him without those.

I raised the water temp to 80-82 degrees but that's all I've done. 5-gallon tank. Not 0ppm ammonia exactly, but definitely less than 0.10 and I don't have a Ph test kit yet.

Attachments

• IMG_6903.jpg
    IMG_6903.jpg
    129 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_6902.jpg
    IMG_6902.jpg
    109.3 KB · Views: 17

SparkyJones

Doesn't look like Ich or tail rot to me, looks like ammonia burn damage in my opinion.
Really regular water changes. keep the water as fresh and as clean as you can. I dont' know the size of the tank, but probably a daily 50% change for the first week and then maybe 25% change after that and see how it goes.

if it were ich you'd see it on the tail and side fins also. All I'm seeing is a stressed and damaged fish. cloudy eye in the first picture also.

dcutl002

Yeah, I'm not seeing Ich either.

Rose of Sharon

Welcome to the forum!

SparkyJones is right; you should be able to treat him with lots of clean water. It does look like he may be either biting his fins (his caudal fin) or he may have gotten damaged on something - some decor maybe?

Betta fix is not really good for bettas. It has tea tree oil which can cause some damage to the betta's labyrinth organ. Most pet stores that sell bettas sell the stuff though. I tried it early on, but all it did was smell up my tank water. It didn't help at all, unfortunately.