Help Betta Newbie....and Marbled Betta

Neoqueenhonybee

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time on any betta forum and my first post here, and I'm also a newbie betta owner. So I was scouring ebay for the perfect betta for a new tank and I found it, or so I thought. I bought a marbled betta not knowing that it changes colors and when I received it in the mail today I was in complete shock because I thought I was scammed (listing one betta, getting another). After contacting the seller I decided to reach out to someone who might be an expert on marbled betta fish.

The seller has kindly offered a refund on the fish (must ship out tomorrow), since I bought it thinking it was purple and red, but now he's just red. However, I'm reading it could turn back to its before color? I'm not sure what to do, really. I feel badly for the betta, and if there is a real chance he'll change back...then I would want to keep him.

Attachments

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Marbles don’t usually change back to their original color. He was likely in the middle of his color change when the pictures were taken. Likely to continue changing color as he ages too. Keep in mind he is also stressed so his coloration in the bag won’t be his normal.

Neoqueenhonybee

Reaction score
Demeter, thank you for your response. So it's really truly a random occurrence? That is crazy and amazing...I just wish I had understood that going into this purchase. N00b mistake, but I also don't want the betta to suffer needlessly. It's not his fault he's random. Maybe I'll keep him and when he dies of old age I'll search for the coloration I had originally intended. He's just no Astal....

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Marbling is indeed random and give crazy results. I’ve raised bettas that were solid blue as juveniles then turned completely white. It’s really a fun gene to play with in bettas

Manan

Valued Member
Reaction score