Betta lying at bottom after temperature drop

• Thread starter Pennjess27
  • Start date

Pennjess27

Hello, I am new at this whole fish owning thing. My bettas tank got too cold and he started losing his color and now he just lays at the bottom of his tank. Hes not eating either. I've tried to warm up the tank but he still isn't going back to normal. Is he dying? Can I do anything?

Attachments

Mazeus

Well Known

Demonskid

Welcome to Fishlore, I hope we can find someone who can help.
Do you know your Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate levels? Those could help the others of this website figure out what's going on.

Also what size tank is he in?

Pennjess27

The tank is now set at 80 degrees F. He is in a 10 gallon tank with no other fish. Unfortunately I dont know any other levels of the tank, im just learning how to test those. He is in preconditioned water from the store.

Mazeus

Well Known
Pennjess27 said:
The tank is now set at 80 degrees F. He is in a 10 gallon tank with no other fish. Unfortunately I dont know any other levels of the tank, im just learning how to test those. He is in preconditioned water from the store.
Ah, he is brand new to you? If you have just introduced him to the tank, he's probably just getting acclimatised. How long have you had him?

Pennjess27

I have had him for a month, he was okay until his water temperature dropped. It got down to 63 degrees so it was pretty cold for him

Mazeus

Well Known
Ok, more questions (sorry!).
1. Did you cycle the take before adding the fish?
2. How often and how much water are you changing (if you have done a water change yet)?

Pennjess27

I did for a couple hours but I didnt know that it should be done for 24 hours until after I put him in and I have done one full water change and do a 25 percent water change every week

Demonskid