Betta In Uncycled Tank?

Niigaanii L

Valued Member
Reaction score
I recently set up a 10 gallon tank for a betta, I of course at the time, didn't think about cycling the tank (this is my first time on my own with this).
I know that pretty much makes me the fish keeping devil, seeing as I now have a fish that I'm not sure if it's safe to put in the tank. I've treated the water with prime and given it some benifical bacteria tablets (start zyme by tetra)
I've been testing the water these past couple days and the perameters seem pretty okay, considering it's a new tank, though not exactly ideal. Nitrite is anywhere grom 0 to 20 ppm. nitrate is around .5 to .10 ppm. hardness is soft, alkalinity is sitting from 40 to 80 (which isn't exactly ideal I know) and the pH seems to be sitting around 6.8 to 7.2 if not slightly more acidic.

I don't wanna keep my betta in it's litte cup becuase I know it's not the greatest thing for him. I've been trying to change out his water in there frequently but I don't wanna risk keeping him in such a small container too much longer

(Also my tank is really cloudy. It's been getting more and more cloudy over time, I read it could be bacteria. Don't know if that means anything more or if it can help )

Attachments

RainBetta

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
How long has it been cycling? If it has been cycling for more that a week, then I would ask an expert at your LFS. So something might be wrong if that is the case. But again, how long has it been cycling?

chadcf

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
What's your ammonia at? The little cup is going to be worse for him than the tank, though I'm not clear which he is in now.

You've got two options I think:

1. Frequent water changes - once or twice daily. You'll have to do this until the bacteria start growing and eating up the ammonia and nitrites.