Betta has dropsy?

• Thread starter Valpal908
  • Start date

Valpal908

I noticed my betta struggling to swim this morning and he seemed bloated. He eats one or two pellets every other day and his 5g tank has 50% water change biweekly. I checked the water parameters With a test strip and I got maybe a little over 0 for nitrate (not super white but definitely not at 20), nitrite 0, pH 7, GH and KH both 0. I don’t know what could’ve caused this; could his filter be too strong causing him a lot of stress? Does he have dropsy ? I’m not very experienced with this disease as I only experienced fin rot with a betta. Right now I took him out of his tank because every time he swims he flips upside down a lot. I also notice that he has a little piece of white fuzz near his mouth but it’s small so idk if my eyes are messing with me. I have a bad feeling he might not make it. Please help!

Attachments

julifhy

Well Known

Gel0city

Well Known
I agree, it doesn't look like dropsy, could be columnaris or some sort of fungus/bacterial infection. Could you get a picture of where the white spot is? You don't need to get this now but I strongly recommend the API Master Test Kit over test strips. They are more accurate and more cost effective.

Valpal908

Valpal908 said: