Betta Fry Eating Each Other

RichTino

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Do betta fry eat each other?
I saw one of my bigger betta fry eat a smaller one of my betta fry, they are just 3 weeks old and yes a few are bigger than the many smaller ones. I do feed all my fry Brine Shrimp and on time, but I don't understand why my betta fry ( the bigger ones ) would eat the smaller fry .. Also I want to mention that one of the bigger betta fry have ate 2 of the smaller betta fry ..
What I want to know is should I transfer the bigger betta fry to my 20 gallon tank immediately ? Do want to say that again they are all 3 weeks old and I know transferring fry at that age would shock them and cause them to die, inform me on what should I do at this time ... I have done all my parameter checks, did the nitrogen cycle in my20 gallon tank and have 4 emergency quarantine tanks that are 3 gallons on standby .. PLEASE HELP ME !! This is my first time just noticing this happening since I've been breeding ...

Demeter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Big fish eat little fish, it's in their nature. This is why when fry start becoming notably larger than their siblings they are separated into another tank. It is not unusual to have 2-3 different tanks filled with 2-3 different sized fry from the same batch, no mater what species you are breeding.