Betta fish yawning and randomly flicking against the glass

ashleighh28

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hey guys I've notice that Bruce my veiltail has randomly been flicking himself against the glass and plants.
His not got any white spots on him and my tank is cycled all three tanks suffer with high nitrates. I've been using matrix for over a 2 months now but my nitrates have stayed at 40ppms they where previously off the chart, I can't seem to get them down any lower then that I vacuum regularly. I do a 50/70%water change weekly.

tjander

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
How about your filter... have you cleaned the media or replaced it? This is in support of your nitrates... I know nothing about Betta fish sorry

OP
ashleighh28

ashleighh28

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I rinse it weekly in old tank water. The sponges have been in there a few months now but they're still good for while.

BravetheBetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
matrix is a good media, but most biomedia can't support nearly enough nitrate-eating bacteria (they're anaerobic and regular anaerobic bact will kill them before they can take hold)

what do your tap parameters read? 40ppm is really high, what is your water chance schedule like? what do you dose your tanks with?

BravetheBetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
oh, and yawning is completely natural. Betta do it to clear their gills every once in a while, especially since they don't use it often. Besh doesn't do it a lot, but Brave and the rest of the gang do.

rustymurphy

Reaction score
I don't know about Betta fish but my fish had parasites and would rub themselves on the gravel I put some stuff called ICH disease treatment in the water look for little white Speck's on fins that is sing of parasites

Fettuccini

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 years