Betta Fish Ripped Tail

1. B

Badet222 Valued Member Member

Help guys...i have a dumbo halfmoon betta fish in 20gal tank with 6 neon tetras and 6 ghost shrimp..they are about 5 days together but my betta got there first by 3 days before i got his tank mates... after 4 days of being together i saw a shrimp skin foating in the water and i just thought my betta eat it.so now i have 5 shrimps remaining.as i just woke up this morning i notice my the ripped tail of my betta...i was so concerned and worried is it because of the shrimp fight or the tail and fin rot thing...help me....i just removed the ghost shrimp now from the tank.. and im new in betta fish literally i just got him a week ago..thanks

2. mclemente06

mclemente06 Valued Member Member

Bettas are naturally aggressive fish, he probably did make that shrimp lunch. As for the fins, it could be fin rot but neon tetras are notorious fin nippers, and are usually not paired with betta fish. It could be either, but my bet is that the neons are nipping at him.

3. tocandesu

tocandesu Well Known Member Member

I've never had neons nip betta fins, but I guess it is a possibility.

Could you post a picture of the betta and his tail? If it appears that he is missing little sections of his tail, it could be due to nipping. However, if the edges of his tail is black, it probably is fin rot.

And Welcome to Fishlore!

4. mclemente06

I had my neons nip at my cory cats in the first couple weeks of being in the tank, that's why I worry about that. I guess it all depends on the fish you get.

5. RyleighJ

RyleighJ Valued Member Member

What kind of decor do you have in your tank? Another possibility is that his tail was snagged on a jagged edge.

6. OP
    OP
    B

I have a smooth pots in the tank with some silk plants...i just git a live java fern early this morning.thank you

Attached Files:

7. mclemente06