Betta fish help?

AJx

Reaction score
Right now, I currently have a beautiful male betta fish living in about a 2.6 gallon tank (by himself). I bought a heater called a hydor mini 7.5W heater, which does not seem to be raising my temperature level very much (it stays at about 69F, room temperature). So there's question one: Is this a good enough heater, and does it always take so long for heaters to raise temperature? It's been on about 12 hours.

Question 2, my betta just...sits towards the top of the water. He's almost always breathing air in, and only occasionally goes to the bottom of the tank. When he does, he usually dive-bombs to the bottom. So, is it some type of disease, and what can I do to treat it? Or is it just because his water temperature isn't high enough yet?

Question 3, I have a filter that came with the tank. But I'm new to filters and have absolutly no idea how they work. I plugged it in and it made an extremely obnoxious whirring noise, and then blew bubbles into the the tank, scaring my betta half to death! Is this what is supposed to happen? Should I give it more time to filter?

Question 4, companions. I was thinking about getting 2 otocinclus for the tank to clean off the algae. I have a little pagoda to hide them in in case the betta does attack, but will 2 be okay with him? Do I still need the filter?

Any help given is greatly appreciated!!

AJx

Reaction score
I just remembered another question, if this can be answered too!

My betta hasn't eatten in 6 days, and I've tried both dried bloodworms and betta pellets. Do bettas always take 6 or more days to eat when introduced to a new tank?

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Those little 7.5w heaters don't tend to do much, unfortunately. I'd recommend a 25 or 50w visitherm stealth if it fits. or one of the small submersible 50w tetra heaters they have at wallyworld. what type of top does his tank have? are there a LOT of holes, etc in it?