Betta Fish Concerns

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by kalexis1800, Apr 25, 2017.

1. kalexis1800Valued MemberMember

Hello, I'm worried about my betta.
    To give some background, I'm a college student, so I have 2 tanks for my betta. This one is a 3.5 gallon and has a heater and a sponge filter. My issue with it is that the sponge filter I bought for it is too bubbly, and my betta struggles to swim. I also notice his poop more because I use sand, and I feel that the sponge filter doesn't properly clean the tank. In my second tank back home, it's either a 5 or 10 gallon. It has a mechanical filter also, and I use the heater from the other tank with that one. My issue with that tank is that the filter tends to also blow my betta away.

I also notice my betta is having finrot issues. I have a small tank back home that I may use a hospital for him and do water changes in that for right now.
    I also thought about getting rid of the 3.5 gallon and just using the 5 gallon as its square shape and gives my betta more room to move. Basically, I spent a lot of money on my betta, and I honestly just want to keep things simple. I'm tired of buying all this equipment and decorations when my betta is still suffering. Can some one recommend me a filter that's good for bettas with long fins too? Thanks. bba718623fc5c6d7a862338cf68f5de4.jpg

2. NanologistWell Known MemberMember

Usually, sponge filters are recommended for Bettas with long fins since they are most gentle.

Some Bettas like to "play" in the bubbles and get blown around by them. If he's having problems swimming in it I'm led to believe he's having other issues, especially since you think he's developing fin rot.

I would leave him in the 3.5 gallon for now as there's no reason to move him to a smaller tank that would cause more harm than good. You will need to test the water for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates and post the results so we can truly help. Is the tank cycled?