Betta Fins are Messed Up - Help!

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by Purrloon, Jul 10, 2015.

1. PurrloonNew MemberMember

tumblr_nr9f2b96o71uycesjo1_540.jpg
    My poor Goku's fins are really messed up.. Is there anything that can be done? I don't want him to be hurt.

2. Aquarist

AquaristFishlore LegendMember

Good morning and Welcome to Fish Lore!

What caused the damage?

Keep your water as pristine as possible. Torn, nipped fins should mend on their own. It wouldn't hurt to do a couple of extra water changes.

Beautiful Betta!

Ken

3. FishesInTank

FishesInTankValued MemberMember

Hi there and welcome to Fishlore! :)

Sorry i have no experience on Betta but.. does he/she swim weirdly? Maybe the flow of the water, check it's movement carefully. Cool betta and keep it nicely.

The Owner of Good Fishes and Killing Fishes group

Last edited: Jul 10, 2015
  4. OP
    OP
    P

PurrloonNew MemberMember

Hello to both of you!
    Surprisingly my Goku is acting fairly normal from what I understand..
    Healthy appetite, swims around fairly easily.. He's been through quite a bit actually, several tank changes in the last couple of months. He's finally settled into his new 2.5 gallon. I think one issue is perhaps the pump/filter current is a bit too strong for him.. I don't think there's a way turn it down either.
    It's apparently a special betta tank too? (located  )
    All and all he seems pretty all right despite his ragged appearance.. I'm really rootin' for his recovery since he's my baby. I've been using   as well, but doesn't really seem to help.

5. FishesInTank

Help!

Betta actaully don't need filter (if you want go ahead, but dont put strong current cuz they dont like it) but if anything happen, tell us :).

Edit: Look post below

Last edited: Jul 10, 2015
  6. smee82Fishlore VIPMember