Betta Dying After Eating Lettuce!!!! Help!

Meredith

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Oh God. I just fed my snails some blanched lettuce and my betta decided to eat a piece that broke off - it was not a small piece and I kept expecting him to spit it out but it seemed stuck. I tried gently pulling it out but my betta flipped and I didnt want to accidentally yank it too hard while he was thrashing around. Several minutes later he ate the WHOLE THING and now he's listing on his side at the top of the tank!! Very bloated too urgh I didn't see this coming - he's never shown interest in eating the anubias in his tank or any of the snail's food in the past. At most he's poked at something and then left it be. He wouldn't/couldnt let go of this one and now he might die what do I do??

Rtessy

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I'm really sorry that happened, and I'm not very experienced in this area, so hopefully I bump this up for you. I'm not sure there is much you can do at this point, I think you should just wait and plan not to feed for a day or two. I'm really sorry this happened, I hope he makes it. Sorry you have to play the waiting game, it's the worst.

missa124816

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'm not an expert in this area, but I've heard that a skinned pea helps with bloating/constipation in Betta's. I'd do what Rtessy said and maybe not feed him and keep an eye on him for the night to see if he makes it. Feeding him the skinned pea may help that move along in his system, so if he's doing okay after a day maybe try giving him that.

WanhiBetta

Valued Member
Reaction score
Okay, constipation is bad but if you stop feeding for the next few days (at least 3 I'd say) he should be fine. After the three days feed him a skinned pea to help his digestion. It's frequent for betta's to get really bloated and it often goes away by itself.

Meredith

Reaction score
Experience
Just started