Betta died

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by NickW, Jun 26, 2016.

1. N

NickW New Member Member

Hi all

I'm a beginner fish keeper and discovered my betta died overnight. He was in the tank with 4 mollies.

I've got a filter setup with biohome and all the neccesary media.

The tank has been set up about 3 and and half weeks.

I do 40% ish water changes every 3 days as I know my cycle hasn't complete yet. The water is treated to remove chlorine and chloramine and such.

I feed every other day with tropical fish flakes.

I never saw any aggression between the betta and the mollies so I'm unsure if he's been bullied to death.

The other mollies seem fine at the moment. They're swimming about happily.

https://vimeo.com/172279317

I'm new to this.. any ideas?

Here's some photos of Bill. Can you shed any light on the causes of his death?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Grimund

Grimund Well Known Member Member

What size tank?

Do you know what the water parameters were/are?

3. OP
    OP
    N

NickW New Member Member

Hi. It's a 10 gallon tank. I understand that this is probably on the small side for mollies. But I didn't realise this until after the man in the shop sold me them!!

I have a test kit on order. So until it arrives I've been doing those big regular water changes.

4. Grimund

Well, I can only make assumptions at this junction.

10 gallons doesn't even house a single molly because of the small volume of water compared to waste production. They belong in 20 gallons and more.

Think of it this way: 0.25 gallons of oil in 1.00 gallons of water is a lot of oil in comparison to the same 0.25 gallons of oil in 100.00 gallons of water. It's more concentrated in the smaller volume than in the larger.

Mollies produce a great deal of waste, they are very high contributors to the bioload (amount of waste produced in total). The waste transitions into ammonia, then nitrite, then nitrate. Ammonia and nitrite are very toxic to fish.