Betta Community Tank??

Ellie Winters

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I have a male betta I've been keeping in his own 10g for a couple years and he has a pretty even temperment. He's a doubletail halfmoon that doesn't swim very well presumably because his fins are so large.

I'd like to give him a tank upgrade to something more natural looking. The tank he's in is several years old and not very pretty. It was my very first and I haven't done much with the design since I've had it.

Question is do you think I could put him in a community with a school of nano fish? Maybe some endlers or something? If so what size tank would I need? 15g?

Salem

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Some bettas can do fine in communities with other fish but it depends very heavily on the betta. People seem to have more luck with fish that look absolutely nothing like bettas. A 15g would probably be ok but most people seem to have more success with something like a 20 gallon long- just gives the betta a bit more space of his own.

Just make sure you have another tank on standby if they dont get along.

Brenden

Valued Member
Reaction score
As Salem said, it does typically depend on the Betta.

However the general rule, is if it has anything the betta can nip at, don't do it. So as far as Endlers go? I would pass on that idea. Bettas also do not like other fish with bright coloration, and will often act territorial. Even if the Betta initially ignores it, they are very unpredictable and a completely calm Betta can one day decide it no longer likes the fish you put in the tank and will kill it.

I have a little list of fish I have personally kept with Bettas that seems to work, once again, Bettas are not the kind of fish you can generalize. Each one has a personality, so pay attention if you notice signs of aggression.