Betta Breeding?

1. Cystaline Initiate Member

Hello FishLore people! Having a good day?
    I'm simply here to ask about Betta Breeding. I've been breeding all types of fish for 7 years now (successfully). And I have decided to try my hand at Bettas. I went out to Petco about a year and a half ago and bought 3 baby Betta (1 male, 2 females). My male is fairly small (about 2 inches in length) and my female I'm trying to breed him with about the same size.

I noticed two days ago, he made more than 1 bubble nest in the corner of his 5 gallon tank. Well, I waited and added the female (in a clear breeder net/tank) yesterday. Now from what I read online I add her in his tank (in the clear breeder tank/net) for a day or two, and he will get use to her. I then put her out into his territory once he stops flaring his gills at her (which would be today, possibly tomorrow as he seems to be a bit more laid back now).

But...the sites (3 of them) also said the male would make the bubble nest BEFORE being ready to mate, and my male has yet to make a bubble nest...

Am I doing something wrong? The temp. in his tank is always 82-84F, PH and Ammonia test perfect, and he has fake grass but real wood/log in his tank.

If you need pictures let me know and I can get pic of the male as well as female. :)
    Thank you!
    ~Cys

2. Cystaline Initiate Member

UPDATE:

He has made a small bubble nest but is still showing a fair amount of aggression to my little female. Any tips? Help me? Please? As no one has responded to this but numerous have looked...Thanks guys.

3. Protim Sarkar Well Known Member Member

Step by step betta breeding.

@Flowingfins can help you.

4. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

5. Flowingfins Fishlore VIP Member

Please please please don't breed in your males tank! It is extremely complicated and isn't at all like breeding guppies. You have to condition your bettas and set up a spawn tank.
    Questions-
    Are your bettas show quality?