Betta Breeding Questions!!

PeachesAndGypsy

Reaction score
This is my first time using Fish Lore so here I go! I have a rare extra large Peach Dalmatian veiltail male betta and a large blue veiltail female betta. I know how to breed bettas and I have almost everything I need. But, I have a some questions!

What should the fry be priced at? Online peach Dalmatians are about $65 for females and $75 for males. But, these fry will be large-extra large! So maybe size adds to the price.‍

If some of they fry aren’t peach Dalmatians, how much should the non peach Dalmatians be priced at? Again they’ll be large-extra large and all of them will carry the peach Dalmatian gene!

If I’m breeding a peach Dalmatian male to a blue female, will roughly half the fry be peach Dalmatians? This gene and coloration is rare and it’s not researched so I couldn’t find anything online about it.

My female is quite large so does that mean she’ll hold more eggs and possibly give me more fry?

What are the best and cheapest containers to house the bully fry and the male fry in when they’re older? I don’t want to spend a fortune on temporary betta containers so they have to be really cheap.

And what is the recovery process like for the adults after breeding? Like what should I use to heal their fins, what should I feed them, etc?

Sorry for all the questions. This will be my first time breeding any fish in purpose! I can also send pictures of the hopefully soon-to-be parents!

PascalKrypt

Well Known Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure if you know how betta genetics work, but it is complicated and can be much harder it seems to get the colours that you want. That female blue veilteil has very dominant genes. It is highly likely that all fry will be blue, and there will be no dalmatians or peach coloured fry, let alone a combination of the two.