Betta Bloated And Sitting On Tank Bottom - Help

avaladon

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,
So I have a boy betta who I got in July last year, so I'm guessing he is probably almost 2 years old now since he wasn't a baby when I got him.

I am a college student and I moved into college on the 4th of September. During this time my mom has been caring for him while I was setting everything up for him at school. Now she knows the basics but she is no expert so she did the best she could (pretty much feeding him correctly, turning his light on and off, cleaning up uneaten food, and adding more water when it gets low.)

She sent me pictures during the past week and he didn't look so well so I decided to come home for the night to see him and he does not look well at all.
He is laying on the floor on his side, he looks bloated and when he tries to swim its really awkward and it looks like hes struggling and then just lays back on the ground.

I do not know my levels but ill do the water test soon. When I got home his water was low so I immediately refilled it and I'm just going to water a short amount of time before testing and doing a water change.

There is also an outbreak of snails (Bladder I think) that got much worse while I was gone.

I have an empty 2.5 gallon tank that I could use that might be easier for him since its smaller and wouldnt have any snails.

He is currently in a 5 gallon with a heater (around 80 degrees Fahrenheit) and a hang on the back filter.
I also have aquarium salt on hand in case anyone recommends it. I use prime water conditioner

please give me any advice, anything I can do to help him. I can't take him back to school just yet so if I do move him into the 2.5 gallon it may be easier for my mom to maintain.

Sorry if there's any spelling errors I just want to get this out as fast as possible

(Also I know the tank looks messy, as I said I haven't done the water change yet)