Betta Aquarium And New To Nitrogen Cycle

Stuart S.
So I’m starting my daughter a Betta aquarium and I’m still not 100% comfortable with the nitrogen cycle just because I’m still new to it but today was day 5 with running the aquarium. I started using Seachem Stability since day 1 and I have also used Prime and Flourish once each. I put a few shrimp pellets in each day as well. I have an API Masterkit and here have been my readings today and Thursday

Test Readings

2/1/18
pH: 8.3
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 2-3 ppm
80 degrees

2/3/18
pH: 8.3
Ammonia: 8.0ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 2ppm
80 degrees

I know I’m waiting on the Nitrites now but just starting this thread for some accountability and to make sure I don’t miss anything. Thanks for any advice and help.

Advertisement
david1978
Yep you have ammonia. Lol. Now it's just a waiting game.

JLeeM
Looks like you have nitrates in your tap water. Also, do you already have the betta in the tank? Or are you cycling first?

Advertisement
Caleb Smith
What plants do you have because Flourish might not be necessary? Also what is the tank size? Welcome to fishkeeping btw!

Lorekeeper
Off to a good start!

During a cycle, I try to keep my Ammonia between 2.0 and 4.0 PPM, as extremely high numbers can stall the cycle.

Advertisement
Minerva77
Looks good! Next you should have a nitrite spike and then a nitrate spike as they're converted into the next step on the cycle (ammonia -> nitrite -> nitrate)

Stuart S.
Looks like you have nitrates in your tap water. Also, do you already have the betta in the tank? Or are you cycling first?

Well I actually purchased purified water first so because I know we have chlorine in the tap and I just didn't want to fool with it. I do not have any fish in the tank yet, I was wanting to cycle it first. If that's best?

What plants do you have because Flourish might not be necessary? Also what is the tank size? Welcome to fishkeeping btw!