2 Gallon Tank Betta acting odd after weekend

maddiecat214

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello I am new to this. My Betta was super happy Friday. Swimming around and making a beautiful bubble nest. I come back today and he stays towards the back of the tank and acting very erratic. He ate very well this am but he just seems off. Now he looks like he is trying to lay on the fake plant. Could it have been a tile crew that was in my office over the weekend, or is he sad because we left him and he is so used to seeing us everyday?? I dont know maybe I am just over reacting.

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Welcome to FL. it could be any of the things you mentioned, but is more likely to be related to the quality of the water he is in.

If you know them, could you please give us the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels? Also, how long has he been in the tank, is it filtered and heated, and what is your maintainence schedule? And what product(s) do you put in the water (conditioners, etc.)?

maddiecat214

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Well I need to get a test kit this week. This tank is heated (reading now is about 80 degrees) and filtered. He has been in this tank almost a week. I had to slow down the filtration due to it whipping him around the tank. I did this with a filter sponge in the intake. This is the first fish I have ever owned. Any help would be great.

Oh and also I do use aquarium salt and did a 48hr cycle on his new tank.

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I'd say skip the salt. And can you explain the 48 hour cycle thing? I'm not familiar...

I think this is a cycling problem. I need to go to work, but someone else should be around that can help you, or I can help more when I get to work in a little bit.

Good luck.

maddiecat214

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'd say skip the salt. And can you explain the 48 hour cycle thing? I'm not familiar...