Beta type?

1. Calum98

Calum98 Valued Member Member

Would anyone be able to identify this fish, I know it's a female Beta but not any specifics as the pet shop doesn't know anything else.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. SabrinaBrook

SabrinaBrook Well Known Member Member

She looks like my veil tail betta Midnight, but i cant be sure, perhaps someone else can say for certain :)
    Here is a pic of Midnight to compare:
    [​IMG]

3. OP
    OP
    Calum98

I see the similarities, cheers for the insight

4. chromedome52

chromedome52 Fishlore VIP Member

It is a cambodian color variety. I'm not certain that some tail types are all that evident on female Bettas, but I haven't been following Betta fin developments for many years. The tails on both of those fish look the same as all the females I had years ago.

5. OP
    OP
    Calum98

It was mainly out of curiosity I was asking, but that's for the reply, I'm new to fish keeping

6. SabrinaBrook

Hi again Calum98,
    Do i see a angel fish in the background of the second photo? Do you have your betta in a community tank? If so that's so awesome! I have tried to get a tank mate for my female midnight but she is far to bossy!

7. OP
    OP
    Calum98

Yeah I do, I have a male beta in there aswell as two other females, 2 swordtails, 5 guppies, 2 angelfish, a Pearl and red robbing Gourami, 4 Minnows, silver shark (Soon to be rehomed hopefully) a pleccy and an albino cory. Everything is getting along other than the sword tails developing a bit of an attitude towards the silver shark :L
    I'm pretty sure it's all just been beginners luck for it to work out as it has.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

8. OP
    OP
    Calum98

Also don't worry about the three guppies in such a small breeding box, it was only temporary while I set up a new tank for them :')

9. SabrinaBrook

Oh wow!! This is amazing, good on you and good luck with everything :D
    That a huge tank too!

10. OP
    OP
    Calum98