Question Beta Tank Mate List

SM1199

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Agreed, don't put others of the gouramI family with bettas - you're bound for a fight. Same with angelfish. I wouldn't exactly recommend rummies for a betta either since they are very active and can stress out your betta. Stick with smaller rasbora species and cories. The pleco will also do fine. I have no experience with kribs but have read a lot of other people don't advise them with bettas at all.

OP
NoOne

NoOne

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok, I have decided on a gorgeous betta...
Will put in 5 pandas, 1 bristlenose, a group of cherrie shrimp, maybe a dwarf African frog......I still want some schooling fish but may want them mostly silver . Any suggestions s and how does this sound?

SM1199

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
NoOne said:
Ok, I have decided on a gorgeous betta...
Will put in 5 pandas, 1 bristlenose, a group of cherrie shrimp, maybe a dwarf African frog......I still want some schooling fish but may want them mostly silver . Any suggestions s and how does this sound?
That sounds a lot better. Have you looked into celestial pearl danios before? I have some and they're amazing. They're not silver and they shoal more than school, but they have amazing colors - navy blue body, red/orange fins with black stripes, and little gold spots all over. They're my favorite nano species. Harlequin rasboras, chilI rasboras, and ember tetras school a bit more and also are not silver but are certain to get along with a betta and relatively easy to find.

I would also note that there's been a huge issue with panda cories dying on people for no reason lately. No one really knows why - it could be a panda-specific disease or something, but just a warning. Many people would probably recommend to steer away from pandas and choose a different type of cory instead.

OP
NoOne

NoOne

Reaction score
Experience
Just started