Best snail eaters for a 37 gal?

Tinnybell

Honestly I'm just getting overwhelmed with all the information out there now, lol. Please help!

I am setting up my standard 37 gal and the stocking will start with as follows:

8 rasboras
2 serpae tetras and one x-ray tetra that were rescues (not getting more)
1 Bristlenose pleco
2-4 bolivian rams (haven't got yet)
Snail eaters???

I have an overpopulation of bladder snails in my old tank, and want something that will eat any hijackers after the move. PFS will be the substrate, will be a planted tank with caves. I was considering pygmy cories but read that they may not be big enough to eat the adult snails. Also considering panda cories or kuhli loaches.

Thoughts??

ForBettaorForWorse

I mean, I'm not an expert, but from what I have seen and heard, assassin snails are a good option for pest snail outbreaks. I don't know the specifics on it though, like now many to get for a 37 gallon tank...

Upvote 0

StarGirl

Some Corie will not eat snails. I wouldn't count on that at all. I didn't think they would at all until I just read a few articles that said they "might" eat them. It sounds like they may eat the eggs pretty good though, reducing the population some.

Upvote 0

mattgirl

I am sure you have heard this before but here it goes again :) If you are having an explosion of snails you are overfeeding the tank. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around this because I didn't think I was over feeding. In my case it was/is ramshorn snails.