Best Salt Mix for Zoanthids and Ricordea?

Fishproblem

Hey Fishlore! I've been planning a simple Caribbean reef setup, and am going to focus on Zoas and Ricordea. I've been doing my research, but all most places have to say on the salt matter seems to be "do what works for you". Great! Except I've never done it before

I know that these corals are about as idiot proof as corals get, but do any of you have good experience with them in any particular salt mix? I plan to use distilled water for mixing, and will be doing two huge water changes a week. Ideally I'll be using a mix that wont require me to dose anything. Is that possible?

Coradee

Bumping this up for you hope our salty members can help you today

Upvote 0

Fishproblem

Oh, Coradee a bump from you is better than any answer
I've done more reading and it seems like just about any commercially available salt will do, and the biggest differences are just down to personal preference and reefkeeping style. I think any of them will do the trick for my intended easy corals and frequent large water changes replacing micronutrients. We'll see! If I have to start dosing, or switch salt to something that suits my husbandry better, so be it!

That said, any anecdotal evidence of success would be warmly welcomed.

Upvote 0

Fishproblem

In case anyone comes across this thread with a similar question (doubtful, probably, since it's SUCH a noob question). I ended up choosing Tropic Marin Pro, after having watched Bulk Reef Supply's 2019 best salt mix videos. The info was super enlightening, and led me to understand that it really is just up to personal preference. I chose Tropic Marin Pro for ease of mixing, lack of residue, and overall quality. But it's not any more specifically good for the corals I plan to grow than any others. My takeaway is that I could use just about any salt I want.

Upvote 0

fish 321

I mean salt is salt as you have figured out, Im pretty sure a large amount of people