Best method to read water test results???

suzybelle

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi! I'm completely new to keeping an aquarium and am a bit lost on how to read the test results for my ammonium and nitrite levels. I am trying to do fishless cycling of my 10 gallon tank. When I check for nitrite, however, I can't tell if it's beginning to appear or not. When I hold the test vial up to the sunlight, it looks like the color that indicates there is no nitrite (yellow), but when I hold the vial up against a white background, it appears more orange-ish. Wish is more accurate - the color when held up to the sunlight or should I put the test up against a background? Thanks so much for any info!!!

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I personally turn on all the lights and hold the vial up against a white door.

welcome to FL. enjoy the forum.

FLGirl

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I asked API and they said
FLGirl to determine the correct level for your tests you will want to hold the test tubes directly against the white background. This will give you the correct reading for all of your tests.
I put it on the white and use the bright light from outside. Usually just a window.

midthought

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Yeah, I wouldn't hold it up to sunlight...for one, I thnk you'd get a different reading if you were testing during the night (or on a cloudy day!). I think most people just hold it flush against the white plastic with good indoor lighting on. Just do it consistently so that your readings aren't all over the place unnecessarily.

claudicles

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I hold it against the white paper next to the colours on the results sheet. That way I have a white backing and the reference colour there to help.

FLGirl

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years