• Other size

Votes: 10 8.1%

• Total voters

Mike

Fishlore
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
In your opinion and assuming money and space wasn't an issue, what size aquarium would you recommend to a beginner to our hobby to start with?

mattgirl

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I would have to go with a 20 gallon. With this size they would have lots more options when it comes to stocking. I feel a tank this size is a good representation of what is required to be successful in this hobby. Once comfortable with taking care of a 20 a person new to the hobby should have the confidence to go up to any size. One could do the same with a 10 gallon but the stocking options are limited in a tank that small. I actually speak from experience since I started with a couple of 10's many many yeas ago.

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I'm a beginner, and I started with a 40 gallon breeder. I like it. It's large enough to hold a good number of fish, has enough volume that water parameters won't get wonky too fast, and shallow enough that maintenance is fairly easy.

DIYfishkeeper

Reaction score
Experience
5 years