Best algae eater?

1. AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

I want to know what you guys think is the best algae eater.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

2. WiFi Well Known Member Member

I have always liked my Bristle nose pleco! But a lot of people are against getting fish as an algae cleaner. Maybe get some snails?

3. NCE12940 Well Known Member Member

I have NO recent experience with anything but Bristlenose Plecos. They have been doing a great job, even took some black algae off my Anubias Petit. The Ramshorn snails I have are young yet (hitchhikers on plants I bought). Too small to do much.

4. Sarcasm Included Well Known Member Member

Depends on the algae, but nerite snails are probably the best overall algae eater.
    If you want a fish, otoclinus is probably the best, but needs to be in groups of 5.
    Shrimp would be the amano shrimp.

5. _Fried_Bettas_ Well Known Member Member

None of them eat every kind of algae, and the common thread and beard type algae is only really eaten by mollies, not by any catfish or pleco. I'm not certain what all various snails and shrimp eat, I'll leave that to someone else. I've seen this argued before and otos and amano shrimp are usually rated toward the top.

6. AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1405472966.263665.jpg
    Thanks. This is the algae that's growing on my glass. What fish would you recommend or snails to get rid of it?

7. _Fried_Bettas_ Well Known Member Member

I wouldn't recommend any fish, I would recommend an algae scraper, and to run your lights about an hour less. Otos do eat that kind of algae.

8. AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

Okay thanks. There's some algae growing on plants too. Should I just get some snails?

9. Sarcasm Included Well Known Member Member

I recommend a razor blade and reduced lights, or just a new dish sponge with soft scrub side.