Berried Amano

Willswaterworld

So, I am a bit new to the hobby. However I’m an avid reader and study so have caught up on my lack of knowledge mostly.
But I have a new problem I am not able to find lots of info on.

A pregnant Amano shrimp.

I have 3 questions
- Do shrimp that are berried need to be fertilised or are they like some other animals where the eggs can be dormant?
- if i leave her in the freshwater tank, will the guppies eat the larvae?
- should I take the eggs (if unfertilised) or the larvae our of the tank or should I let the fish sort them out?

Basically, when it comes to Amano shrimp I have no idea

Feohw

1. When a shrimp is carrying eggs in its pleopods they are fertile. The eggs are infertile when they are developing in their saddle, but she will only pass the eggs down after she has mated, so the eggs are fertilized as they pass from the saddle to the pleopods. If for some reason they weren't fertilized they wouldn't carry them for long before dropping.

2 + 3. You won't even notice them. They will be so small that they won't be seen or impact water quality. They won't last long in freshwater, dying or being eaten. So you can just leave them in the tank.

Mhamilton0911

Amanos are hard to breed, read up on thier breeding. I'm pretty sure the eggs need salt water to grow and hatch. They will carry eggs easy but cannot hatch in freshwater.

Willswaterworld

thanks Feohw & Mhamilton0911

barbiespoodle

I adore my amano shrimp, but the biggest heartbreak for me is the fact that while my females berry, I'm just not set up to raise the babies. If you research raising amano shrimp, you'll see it's a very complicated process with little success, way beyond my expertise.